top of page

5 Literary Ghosts Who Haunt The Stages And Streets Of NYC And London

I'm a storyteller by nature, trade and training. My earliest memories are of telling ghost stories to my girl scout troupe, delighting in terrifying my friends. It was no surprise that I’d grow up to be an author of many Gothic, historical fantasy series, all of which involve ghosts .

When I first began doing research on what would become three different series of eerie, atmospheric tales of supernatural suspense set in the late Victorian era, I took ghost tours in London and New York to truly get the feel of the haunts. I’ve infused real, documented ghost stories into all of my series, most recently my Strangely Beautiful and Eterna Files series with Tor Books.

Having come from a professional theatre background before I finally gave in to my darker, ghostlier side and gave up the stage for the written page, I couldn’t help but gravitate to ghosts of the theatre as my favorite tales, and London has some of the very best. As for my experiences in NYC, I'm delighted to share a very personal local story.

What makes for the best ghost stories? When the characters were as interesting in life as in death. These real life ghost stories also factor into my Strangely Beautiful and Eterna Files novels, showing that the literary stage traditions of hauntings truly never die:

Who's Behind The Ghostly News
  Recommended Reading

Haunted Fort Lauderdale

by

John Marc Carr

Published by History Press 

April 2008

To Find out how to purchase book

Click onto book above.

bottom of page